Hamburg: QUEST Investment Partners plans prominent new building

Hamburg: QUEST Investment Partners plans prominent new building 2400 1599 QUEST Investment Partners


Hamburg: QUEST Investment Partners plans prominent new building

  • Christ & Gantenbein from Basel wins archi­tec­tural contest
  • New development on Willy-Brandt-Str. 69 provides office, residential and
    restaurant spaces
  • Dismantling of Cremon bridge to benefit Hopfen­markt and create new vistas

Hamburg, 12 February 2020. It is a superbly located site in the very heart of Hamburg. In April 2019, QUEST Investment Partners, the real estate project development company from Hamburg, launched an inter­na­tional archi­tec­tural contest for the new development of the Fleet site at Willy-Brandt-Straße 69. A winner has now been selected: With an attractive eight-storey brick building, the archi­tec­tural office Christ & Gantenbein from Basel stood out against six other parti­ci­pants. “We encou­raged the parti­ci­pating offices to create a lively, yet striking and elegant piece of archi­tecture. The building is situated in a prominent location and can therefore be very expressive,” explains Theja Geyer, managing partner at QUEST Investment Partners.

Winning design boasts high aesthetic value and successful spatial integration
“The archi­tects at Christ & Gantenbein submitted an impressive proposal, which is compelling not only in terms of urban planning, but also in terms of its layout and design details.” This was the verdict of the jury, consisting of Chief Planning Director Franz-Josef Höing, repre­sen­ta­tives of the city and the political parties, the Office for the Protection of Histo­rical Monuments as well as freelance archi­tects. The building comprises more than 7,500 square metres of usable floor space. The plans envisage flexible office spaces, and the ground floor with its large windows could accom­modate a café — the perfect place to sip a coffee by the canal. A benefit for Hamburg’s citizens: New apart­ments are to be built, with loggias overlooking the histo­rical Nikolaifleet. The red brick façade echoes Hamburg’s old building tradition, yet inter­preting it in a contem­porary way. This creates a visual bridge between the adjacent histo­rical and modern urban archi­tecture of Hamburg. “The building responds to the highly diverse urban dimen­sions in a subtle way, without appearing too dominant in the overall context,” is how the jury explained its decision.

“The new development of this site is a historic oppor­tunity. Our design trans­cends the fragmented nature of the current situation and acts as a bridge between the tradi­tional Fleet houses and the modern buildings along Willy-Brandt-Straße,” explain the archi­tects from Christ & Gantenbein. And what is more: “The red brick anchors the building in the surrounding development and associates it with related buildings, such as the one of the Patriotic Society of Hamburg.”

City wants to revive Hopfen­markt and dismantle Cremon bridge
The City of Hamburg has a clear objective for the district around Willy-Brandt-Straße: It wants to upgrade and revive the area in a sustainable way. The Hopfen­markt in front of St. Nikolai Church is thus to become a popular urban leisure area again. The square received its name in the 14th century. It was here that brewers bought their hops. Later on, the Hopfen­markt became Hamburg’s wholesale food market and served a key function for the city for centuries.
In order to open up new vistas of histo­rical buildings such as St. Nikolai Memorial, the Cremon pedestrian bridge is to be dismantled. Instead, an additional traffic light is to improve the pedestrian and bicycle traffic across Willy-Brandt-Straße in a north-south direction.

The current building dates back to 1956, its main tenant being the manufac­turer of building materials Holcim GmbH. The building appli­cation is scheduled for submission in autumn 2020, with construction work on the project commencing in summer 2022 at the earliest.

About QUEST Investment Partners

QUEST Investment Partners is a real estate project development and investment company with offices in Hamburg and Berlin. QUEST focuses on invest­ments in commercial and residential properties with upside potential in top locations of major German cities. The QUEST team has extensive experience in the development of high-quality real estate projects and conti­nuously aims at increasing the real estate values of its share­holders and investors. QUEST’s share­holders are the managing directors Theja Geyer and Jan Rouven Künzel as well as the investment holding company of the Hamburg entre­preneur Erck Rickmers who is invested in real estate, equity invest­ments and shipping.

Diese Website benutzt Cookies. Wenn Sie die Website weiter nutzen, gehen wir von Ihrem Einverständnis aus.

Hamburg: QUEST Investment Partners plant markanten City-Neubau

Hamburg: QUEST Investment Partners plant markanten City-Neubau 2400 1599 QUEST Investment Partners


Hamburg: QUEST Investment Partners plant markanten City-Neubau

  • Christ & Gantenbein aus Basel gewinnen Archi­tek­tur­wett­bewerb
  • Neube­bauung Willy-Brandt-Str. 69 bietet Büro-, Wohn- und Gastro­no­mie­fläche
  • Rückbau der Cremon­brücke zugunsten des Hopfen­markts und neuer Sicht­achsen

Hamburg, 12. Februar 2020. Es ist ein prominent gelegenes Grund­stück, mitten im Herzen Hamburgs. Für die Neube­bauung des Fleet­grund­stücks an der zentral gelegenen Willy-Brandt-Straße 69 hat die Hamburger Immobilien Projekt­ent­wick­lungs­ge­sell­schaft QUEST Investment Partners im April 2019 einen inter­na­tio­nalen Archi­tek­tur­wett­bewerb ausgelobt. Nun steht der Gewinner fest: Das Archi­tek­turbüro Christ & Gantenbein aus Basel hat sich mit einem achtge­schos­sigen ästhe­ti­schen Backstein­ge­bäude gegen sechs andere Teilnehmer durch­ge­setzt. „Wir haben die teilneh­menden Büros ermutigt, eine lebendige, aber gleich­zeitig expressive und elegante Archi­tektur zu schaffen. Das Haus steht an einem exponierten Ort und darf dementspre­chend ausdrucks­stark sein“, erläutert Theja Geyer, geschäfts­füh­render Gesell­schafter der QUEST Investment Partners.

Sieger­entwurf überzeugt mit hoher Ästhetik und gelun­gener räumlicher Einbindung
„Die Archi­tekten von Christ & Gantenbein haben einen beein­dru­ckenden Entwurf vorgelegt, der sowohl auf der städte­bau­lichen Ebene als auch in den Grund­rissen und gestal­te­ri­schen Details überzeugt“, so die Jury, bestehend aus Oberbau­di­rektor Franz-Josef Höing, Vertretern der Stadt, der politi­schen Parteien, des Denkmal­schutzamts sowie freien Archi­tekten. Über 7.500 qm Nutzfläche umfasst der Bau. Geplant sind flexible Büroflächen, im Erdge­schoss mit seinen großen Fenstern könnte ein Café am Fleet zum Kaffee einladen. Gut für Hamburgs Bürge­rInnen: Es sollen neue Wohnungen entstehen, aus deren Loggien man auf das histo­rische Nikolaifleet blickt. Die Fassade aus rotem Backstein nimmt die alte Hamburger Bautra­dition auf, inter­pre­tiert sie jedoch zeitge­nös­sisch und schlägt damit eine visuelle Brücke zwischen der angren­zenden histo­ri­schen und modernen Hamburger Stadt­ar­chi­tektur. „Feinsinnig geht das Bauwerk auf die höchst unter­schied­lichen stadt­räum­lichen Dimen­sionen ein, ohne dabei zu dominant im Gesamt­kontext zu wirken“, begründet die Jury die Entscheidung.

„Die Neube­bauung dieses Grund­stücks ist eine histo­rische Chance. Unser Entwurf überwindet den fragmen­ta­ri­schen Charakter der heutigen Situation und vermittelt zwischen den tradi­tio­nellen Fleet­häusern und der modernen Bebauung entlang der Willy-Brandt-Straße“, erläutern die Archi­tekten von Christ & Gantenbein. Und weiter: „Der rote Backstein verankert das Gebäude in der umlie­genden Bebauung und setzt es mit verwandten Bauten – wie dem der Patrio­ti­schen Gesell­schaft – in Beziehung.“

Stadt möchte Hopfen­markt neu beleben und Cremon­brücke zurück­bauen
In dem Quartier rund um die Willy-Brandt-Straße verfolgt die Stadt Hamburg ein klares Ziel: Sie möchte das Viertel nachhaltig aufwerten und neu beleben. So soll sich der Hopfen­markt vor der Nikolai­kirche wieder zu einer beliebten urbanen Aufent­halts­fläche entwi­ckeln. Seinen Namen erhielt der Platz im 14. Jahrhundert als Bierbrauer hier ihren Hopfen kauften. Später wurde der Hopfen­markt zum Hamburger Großmarkt für Lebens­mittel und besaß über Jahrhun­derte eine zentrale Funktion für die Stadt.
Um neue Sicht­achsen auf histo­rische Gebäude wie das Mahnmal St. Nikolai freizu­geben, ist der Rückbau der Cremon-Fußgän­ger­brücke geplant. Eine zusätz­liche Ampel soll statt­dessen den Fuß- und Radverkehr über die Willy-Brandt-Straße in Nord-Süd-Richtung verbessern.

Das jetzige Gebäude stammt aus dem Jahr 1956, Haupt­mieter ist der Baustoff­her­steller Holcim GmbH. Im Herbst 2020 soll der Bauantrag einge­reicht werden, Baubeginn des Projekts ist frühestens im Sommer 2022.

Über QUEST Investment Partners

QUEST Investment Partners ist eine Immobilien Projekt­ent­wick­lungs- und Invest­ment­ge­sell­schaft mit Sitz in Hamburg, Berlin und Frankfurt. QUEST konzen­triert sich auf Inves­ti­tionen in Gewerbe- und Wohnim­mo­bilien mit Wertstei­ge­rungs­po­ten­tialen in ausge­wählten deutschen Großstadt­lagen. Das Team von QUEST verfügt über langjährige Erfah­rungen in der Entwicklung von hochwer­tigen Immobi­li­en­pro­jekten. QUEST hat es sich zum Ziel gemacht, als Projekt­ent­wickler und Immobi­li­en­ma­nager die Immobi­li­en­werte ihrer Gesell­schafter und Inves­toren konti­nu­ierlich zu steigern. Gesell­schafter der QUEST sind die Geschäfts­führer Theja Geyer und Jan Rouven Künzel sowie die Investment Holding des Hamburger Unter­nehmers Erck Rickmers, der in den Bereichen Immobilien, Unter­neh­mens­be­tei­li­gungen und Schiff­fahrt inves­tiert ist.

Diese Website benutzt Cookies. Wenn Sie die Website weiter nutzen, gehen wir von Ihrem Einverständnis aus.